I wish I didn’t know

Posted: March 26, 2013 by peytonporter1995 in PeytonP

Again.
It happened again,
I thought it was all over.
I thought this part of our lives were done.
That we wouldn’t venture back down this road.
I’m not sure if you think I’m stupid,
Maybe you just don’t care.
My family was once whole,
Now it is broken.
I really don’t blame anyone.
Maybe that’s the way it’s meant to be.
I’m just a kid, it’s none of my concern,
you’ll always be my father and you’ll always be my mother.
At least that’s what I’m told.
I’m not a baby anymore, I know what goes on.
Life has took yet another unexpected turn.
So, I’m just left here waiting, waiting and wishing I didn’t know.

Comments
  1. katlynmollett says:

    Peyton, You put so much emotion into this poem. My favorite line is “I thought this part of our life was done, that we wouldn’t venture back down this road.” I have had experiences when I thought the storm was over, but it would start again. This poem brings back memories I forgot about. You did a great job.