The Looking Glass of Lies

Posted: March 17, 2015 by gracebannister in GraceB

When I was young in Wonderland,

I was never still.

I lived among the apple trees,

My heart was on the hill.

 

From my back grew ivory wings,

For I was free as day.

All I knew of sorrow was for

Those who could not stay.

 

When I was young in Wonderland,

The way was never clear.

For I could see the demons,

They told me not to fear.

 

I was young but not a fool;

I opened up my eyes.

And there I saw among the people,

A Wonderland of Lies.

Comments
  1. ashmollett says:

    I enjoy this piece. I felt the wording was extremely powerful and the term Wonderland made everything fit together.

  2. brandonwood499 says:

    I love anything that has to do with Wonderland. I like the feeling of mystery. Love this piece! 🙂