One Day

Posted: January 14, 2015 by brittanyhodges0 in BrittanyH

One day I will stop this storm you’ve made.

One day I will be released from these golden chains you have cuffed me with.

 

You do not own me

You do not control me

You do not know me

 

One day I will tell the world the stories of how beauty has become a figure of speech, for you have shown me even the most enchanting sights have the ability to form a horrific monster from the inside out. Who knew beneath all that glory was a beast crushing every ray of hope I still had left inside….

 

I am older now, I have prayed that I may be wiser than I was in the beginning.

 

Sometimes I see you, applauding myself that I no longer feel the weight of the now rusted and cracking chains that once confined me to the thought of anything else but you.

 

The storm on my behalf is long gone now, but I can’t quite say the same for you.

 

You still have the look, each time I catch your glance I see it.

Today your storm still has the calm roar of confusion. A kaleidoscope of emotion still continuously run through your veins.

 

I must ask, however.

How do your golden chains feel?

Are they as heavy as mine once were?

 

One day you will learn your lesson, so good news for you

Today is the day.

Comments
  1. gracebannister says:

    You’re fabulous. The golden chains bit was really nice!

  2. lexirm says:

    “Who knew beneath all that glory was a beast crushing every ray of hope I had left inside….” I love that line. c: One of my favorite poems I’ve read.

  3. gracebannister says:

    You’re fabulous. The “golden chains” bit is really nice.

  4. sara88akers says:

    This is so deep, and wonderful. I liked all of the strong details you put into it, it made it more alive. I think it was great.

  5. hannahmarie64 says:

    “Today your storm still has the calm roar of confusion.”
    forever speechless from your pieces.