Pompeii

Posted: May 30, 2014 by haleykw2015 in HaleyW

Air flowing through my canopy,

I rest my gaze upon the sea.

Citizens with crows atop their heads,

Have no idea they’ll soon be dead.

 

Myrtle and Laurel litter the grounds:

The finest fragrances to be found.

Children playing with toys of plush,

Everything will soon be crushed.

 

Happiness in streets as fine as gold,

Citizens chattering with stories untold.

Pompeian’s now basking in the sun,

Their lives will soon be undone.

 

In the blink of an eye

Children watch their mothers die.

Exotic animals run and dash,

Only to be choked on falling ash.

 

My bark, once twisting and turning,

Is alive with a painful burning.

My leaves and olives unnerved,

The city of Pompeii becomes preserved.

Comments are closed.