Grown-Up

Posted: May 30, 2014 by skylar1314 in SkylarP

I’m running

in a foggy haze.

The sky is a bright pinkish purple color.

The gravel under my feet is slippery;

I stumble.

But I keep going.

Running and running,

I don’t know what toward.

Maybe I’m after that falling star

at the far end of the sky.

Perhaps, the leprechaun’s pot of gold

is hidden among the trees.

Or maybe I’m searching for the untouchable spot

where the sun meets the moon in a changing of the guards.

I just keep running

toward something,

or maybe nothing.

I pull my jacket hood over my eyes.

I’m in a dark jungle

oblivious to the dangers lurking around me.

I feel a pounce on my shoulder…

I pull the hood back

and awake with a start.

Wake up little girl.

It’s time to go to work.

Comments are closed.