When I Was Young on The Hill

Posted: October 24, 2013 by kenzie1215 in MacKenzieJ

When I was young on the hill,

I spent many of my days in my grandparents

once yellow and green house.

My brother and I went into the junk filled garage,

and plundered to find adventures beneath the dusty objects.

We often found black, hairy spiders as big as our hands,

and screamed for Granddad to save us from our distress.

When I was young on the hill,

I always looked forward to dinner always home-cooked,

and they never forgot cornbread on the side.

When I was young on the hill,

I sat in awe as my old but strong Granddad

told us stories from he a young child.

After he told those stories,

I scurried and found my way into the bedroom,

to watch Blues Clue’s on the tiny tv screen.

When I was young on the hill,

I found myself in the graveyard, behind the house,

playing ghost busters.

When I was young on the hill,

we waited and watched for my Mamaw Judy

to say “There’s a hole!!” and tore Granddads shirt excitedly.

While we lay asleep on the waterbed,

my brother and I soon got a wake up call.

My Granddad bouncing us on the bed, roaring.

Then often just a few days later,

I had to walk on the water bed trying to find

where water was squirting out.

When I was young on the hill,

I woke up on Sundays, put on my best dress,

and made my way to 5&6 Church.

When I was young on the hill,

I remember being surrounded by guns.

I was always protected by guns and Jesus.

When I was young on the hill,

My small family moved a couple times to different places,

But never failed to find our way home, where we belong,

to our home on the hill.

Comments are closed.