Absence of a Great Man

Posted: June 12, 2013 by Ethan G in EthanG, The Great Unifier of Japan

The Absence of a Great Man
By Ethan Gartin

– The Year 1616 –
My father Tokugawa Ieyasu,
The Great former Shogun who preceded me,
Established the most powerful empire in the history of Japan.
He has created a peace which I predict will last some time.
His absence pains my spirit;
My pain is only trumped by my pride.
I am honored to have been his son and his successor.
Before he sickened and died, the
Glorious Shogun had accomplished what
Centuries of other warriors had attempted and failed:
He brought peace to all of Japan
And an empire to fit his family.
As I watch the cherry blossoms slowly fall onto his newly dug grave,
I can only imagine what history will say about such a great man,
Tokugawa Ieyasu.

Comments are closed.