Broken

Posted: March 26, 2013 by katlynmollett in KatlynM

I have a secret.

It’s as deadly as venom as it rushes through my veins.

Making my heartbeat slower and my eyes disconnected.

I’m unplugged thinking that  what I’m doing to myself is okay.

Starving yet only craving control.

I think she knows.

She has to know.

My mother was always one step ahead.

As the lies buzz around me like bees,

 I continue to say “Yes, I ate.” or  “No, I am not hungry.”

, and I swat them away convincing myself they will never sting me.

I ‘m breaking.

How do you pick up the pieces and become stronger?

That’s the secret no one will share with me.

The headaches appear and my vision goes blurry.

I’m in a fog, and I can’t find my way out.

Call out!

Point me in the right direction!

Because I’m Broken.

Comments
  1. josephcolley says:

    I like the comparison at the beginning that compares you to something that can kill. It sets the image of the poem. Great piece.

  2. vjbc21 says:

    Thank you for sharing this piece with us. It’s very personal and heart felt. Every girl feels down on herself feeling the need to be skinny or perfect, but you are perfect just how you are!! You are beautiful and such a smart girl. You should be proud of that!!!!! 🙂

  3. kaileed7 says:

    You put your heart and soul into this and I know we are all thankful for your sharing. This a very personal and moving piece. I loved it!!!

  4. Ethan G says:

    I love how emotional it is and how you’ve put the short, straightforward lines at every few lines.

  5. lukacsbetsy says:

    This is a powerful piece all together! I can’t pick nothing out of it. Great work!

  6. Thanks for sharing this. It is really strong and really straightforward. I got emotional over this one.

  7. gracianarose13 says:

    I really admire you for sharing something so personal and close to your heart. You know I’m always here if you need anything.

  8. peytonporter1995 says:

    I love how you shared this with us. I think it’s something we all, as females, struggle with is our weight. It’s a great great great piece and I know as a dancer you do feel the need to stay thin, but I promise you are perfect & there’s no need to feel that way.