Victory

Posted: December 9, 2011 by alisonadkins in AllisonA

The dirt is everywhere,
surrounding the mound where I stand.
The cheers and screams coming from the stand
slowly come to a stop.
I wind up and release
and the batters out.

Once again the crowd is screaming and cheering,
it’s hard to concentrate, but I manage.
One more out and we win.
The pressures on.
It’s time to pitch.

I wind up, the first pitch whirls toward the batter.
The smack of the ball hitting the gloves,
lets me know it’s a strike.
The next one,
a strike also.
The crowds on the edge of their seats,
place back by a disappointing ball.
Then, the ball hits the glove,
and we win the game.

Comments
  1. deidrabrowning says:

    great word choice….this is my favorite of yours…..

  2. travisplumley says:

    Awesome!

    “The smack of the ball hitting the gloves,
    lets me know it’s a strike.”

    I can actually hear a ball hiiting a glove when I read this!

  3. you described this piece very well & i can sense everything happening in this

  4. aburroway says:

    This piece uses very vivid imagery. Great!