We’re Done (:

Posted: June 1, 2011 by brittanyburgess2010 in BrittanyB

We’re done.

Everything we worked so hard for is over.

I can feel my throat closing as I gasp for air.

Each breath killing me more inside.

I feel as if my heart is bleeding.

It will never heal.

This pain will be the end of me.

The happy me.

I refuse to feel this again.

As I am pulling myself up off the ground,

I feel that in some way,

All the pain you have caused me, only made me stronger.

I realize,

Though I never thought I would,

That I am better off without you.

We’re done.

…And I’m okay with that.

Comments
  1. Sheila says:

    This strikes a chord in the way that it hits home and makes me know that as young as these writers are, they have experienced some heartbreak and find their ability to expressand release through poetry. I like it.

  2. brittanyburgess2010 says:

    thank you 🙂