Never Forgotten

Posted: March 7, 2011 by Preston E. Hepler in PrestonH

My uncle loved seeing my games

He was only able to come to the home  games due to his health

I didn’t understand what was so special about people

The ones you love

He was there at my last game

Even though I didn’t know it would  be his last

I knew he’d rather be there than anywhere

He always congratulated me

No matter how I really done

He always made the funniest gestures

He always gave me an ice-cold pink lemonade from his little red and white cooler from behind his seat

Then the next game I realized I was stronger than ever

I had the strength to compete with the best

I had the determination

I had the courage

I had been given the opportunity to

Have his strength

Have his bravery

Giving my best will never be as much as he has given

Yet my prayers seem to come through

But there will always be that one prayer that must have been forgotten

That’s the prayer for him to recover from his massive stroke

That’s why my dad lost his brother

My cousin is without a father

And I am without an uncle

But he will never be forgotten

Comments
  1. brittany1795 says:

    I can relate to having lost someone who supported you in sports. In my cause, I lost her at one of my games. And having hope that they’ll get better. But, sometimes it teaches us lessons that we’ll never forget. This is flled with a lot of emotion, good job 🙂

  2. hutch24 says:

    I really like the line where you say “Giving my best will never be as much as he has given” this line is a really strong one I think and it tells me that you are giving your best even though your uncle had given greater. Good job man.

  3. jessidanielle2011 says:

    I really love this poem very strong! I love the line “But there will always be that one prayer that must have been forgotten” because I can relate to it very much.